Welcome to Pop-Bugs

We are one of the first companies to bring insect protein to your plate in the form of delicious balls and burgers.
R

Alternative protein (insects)

R

100% natural ingredients

R

Convenience products

Our Project

Since April 2017, we have been working on developing insect-based foods in our Pop-Bugs test kitchen. What sounds novel to us in Western countries is normal for many people in other parts of the world. With our products, we want to help ensure that eating insects becomes a habit for us and at the same time protects the environment.

PROJECT

Environment

In contrast to other animal species, insects have a better carbon footprint. Breeding them requires less water, less agricultural land and produces fewer greenhouse gases. Another aspect: the whole insect can be processed, so no slaughter waste is produced by manufacturing these products.

Health

Insects not only contain many proteins and a high proportion of unsaturated and saturated fatty acids, but also vitamins and minerals such as iron and zinc.

Product presentation

The Pop-Bugs Burgers with 30% insects (Tenebrio Molitor) are currently available at selected food trucks. Soon they will also be present in supermarkets, and restaurants . As we also attach great importance to naturalness in this product, our list of ingredients includes quinoa flakes, vegetables (beetroot, onion, tomato concentrate, garlic powder), spices, herbs and natural flavors. The Patties taste different for everyone, but great for everyone in a burger! Try them out too!

Our Pop-Bugs Balls contain 17% mealworms (Tenebrio molitor). The remaining ingredients include vegetables (chickpeas, celery, carrots, leeks) and spices. Since we value all natural products greatly, our balls are completely free of artificial flavourings and additives! As an aperitif, a side dish with salad, in bowls or wraps – there are no limits to using these balls.

Product presentation

The Pop-Bugs Burgers with 30% insects (Tenebrio Molitor) are currently available at selected food trucks. Soon they will also be present in supermarkets, and restaurants . As we also attach great importance to naturalness in this product, our list of ingredients includes quinoa flakes, vegetables (beetroot, onion, tomato concentrate, garlic powder), spices, herbs and natural flavors. The Patties taste different for everyone, but great for everyone in a burger! Try them out too!

Our Pop-Bugs Balls contain 17% mealworms (Tenebrio molitor). The remaining ingredients include vegetables (chickpeas, celery, carrots, leeks) and spices. Since we value all natural products greatly, our balls are completely free of artificial flavourings and additives! As an aperitif, a side dish with salad, in bowls or wraps – there are no limits to using these balls.

Our team

Together, we meet the selection of suppliers and personally visit the cooperating food trucks and supermarkets. We ask customers about their preferences. It is by doing this, that the recipes can always be improved according to customer requirements.

TEAM

Ralph Langholz

Has an MBA in Supply Chain Management and is the Insect Product Manager. He analyses the market and creates suitable structures for our products. He establishes and maintains contacts with customers and partners and takes care of making the Pop-Bugs products more widely known.

Ralph Langholz

Hat einen MBA in Supply Chain Management und ist der Produktmanager Insekten. Er beobachtet den Markt und schafft geeignete Strukturen für unsere Produkte. Er knüpft und pflegt Kontakte mit Kunden und Partnern und sorgt dafür, dass die Pop-Bugs Produkte an Bekanntheit gewinnen.

Meinrad Koch

As Insect Product Developer, it is his job to develop and improve the recipes of our Pop-Bugs products. Thanks to his master studies as a food technologist, he knows which ingredients complement each other and which production processes will be suitable for our products.

Meinrad Koch

As Insect Product Developer, it is his job to develop and improve the recipes of our Pop-Bugs products. Thanks to his master studies as a food technologist, he knows which ingredients complement each other and which production processes will be suitable for our products.

Points of sale

From autumn 2019 our Pop-Bugs Balls will be available in different Hieber Supermarkets in Southwest Germany. Furthermore, our Pop-Bugs products will be served at selected food trucks in Switzerland. We’re constantly working to bring the Pop-Bugs Balls closer to you. If you want to be kept up to date about the points of sale, sign up for our Newsletter

Hieber
Germany

We can be found in the branches of Lörrach, Weil am Rhein and Grenzach

MundoDelGusto
Switzerland

Tuesday: Kloten Priora Suisse AG
11:30 am – 1:15 pm (Mobile Business)
Balz-Zimmermannstrasse 7, 8302 Kloten

Wednesday: Canon Schweiz
11:15 am – 1:15 pm (Mobile Business)
Richtistrasse 9, 8304 Wallisellen

Thursday: ZHDK Toni-Arel
11:00 am – 2:00 pm (Mobile Business)
Pfingstweidstrasse 96, 8005 Zürich

FAQ

Insects

Where do the insects come from?

The insects come from farms in Europe that specialise in the production of edible insects. The breeders are also regularly inspected by the food control administration.

Are the insects visible in the product?
No they are not. The product is processed in such a way that no insects or insect parts are visible or perceptible.

Flavour

What do insects taste like?
Mealworms and grasshoppers taste fresh and slightly nutty, while the taste of crickets resembles that of popcorn. It should be noted, however, that there are differences in taste between fresh and freeze-dried insects.
What do Pop-Bugs Balls taste like?
Our product consists of natural ingredients. In our consumer surveys, they were described as spicy, deliciously crispy with a slightly hot aftertaste. Basically, there are different tastes to experience. Try out the Pop-Bugs Balls and see for yourself!

Our Product

Are insect products vegetarian or vegan?
No, the products are neither vegetarian nor vegan due to the addition of mealworms. We have an increasing number of vegetarians eating our delicious Pop-Bugs Balls. The fact is that insects are animal proteins.

Recipes

Yoghurt-herb dip

Yoghurt-herb dip

Ingredients: 100 gGreek yoghurt10 gmayonnaise10 gsliced onion5 gchopped parsley3 gchopped chivessaltpepper Here’s how to do it: Mix the Greek yoghurt with the mayonnaise, the chopped herbs and onion. Season with salt and pepper.

read more
Yoghurt-fig dip

Yoghurt-fig dip

Ingredients:  180 gGreek yoghurt1 Stückfig10 g lemon juicesaltpepper Here’s how to do it: Chop the figs, mix with the Greek yoghurt and puree. Season with salt, pepper and lemon juice.

read more
Yogurt-mint dip

Yogurt-mint dip

Ingredients: 180 gyoghurt10 gmint1 TLhoneysaltpepper Here’s how to do it: Mix the yoghurt with the honey. Chop the mint and mix it with the yoghurt. Season with salt and pepper.

read more

Newsletter

Newsletter

Micarna SA

Social Media

Willkommen bei Pop-Bugs

Wir sind einer der ersten Anbieter, die Insektenproteine als leckere Bällchen und Burger auf deinen Teller bringen.

R

Alternatives Protein (Insekten)

R

100 % natürliche Zutaten

R

Convenience

Willkommen bei Pop-Bugs

Wir sind einer der ersten Anbieter, die Insektenproteine als leckere Bällchen und Burger auf deinen Teller bringen.

R

Alternatives Protein (Insekten)

R

100 % natürliche Zutaten

R

Convenience

Unser Projekt

In unserer Pop-Bugs Testküche arbeiten wir seit April 2017 daran, Lebensmittel aus Insekten zu entwickeln. Was für uns in den westlichen Ländern neuartig klingt, ist für viele Menschen in anderen Teilen der Welt Normalität. Wir möchten mit unseren Produkten dazu beitragen, dass das Essen von Insekten auch bei uns zur Gewohnheit wird und gleichzeitig die Umwelt schonen.

PROJEKT

Umwelt

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Tierarten haben Insekten eine bessere Klimabilanz. Sie benötigen weniger Wasser, weniger landwirtschaftliche Nutzfläche bei der Aufzucht und produzieren weniger Treibhausgase. Ein weiterer Aspekt: Insekten können nahezu komplett verarbeitet werden, so entstehen durch die Herstellung dieser Produkte keine Schlachtabfälle.

Gesundheit

Insekten enthalten nicht nur viele Proteine und einen hohen Anteil an ungesättigten und gesättigten Fettsäuren, sondern auch Vitamine und Mineralstoffe wie zum Beispiel Eisen und Zink.

Produktvorstellung

Die Pop-Bugs Burger mit 30% Mehlwurmanteil (Tenebrio Molitor) gibt es derzeit bei ausgewählten Foodtrucks zu kaufen. Bald auch in diversen Supermärkten und Gastronomiebetrieben. Da wir auch bei diesem Produkt besonderen Wert auf Natürlichkeit legen, umfasst unsere Zutatenliste Quinoaflocken, Gemüse (Rote Beete, Zwiebel, Tomtenkonzentrat, Knoblauchpulver), Gewürze, Kräuter und natürliche Aromen. Die Pattys schmecken für jeden anders, aber im Burger für jeden super! Probier sie doch auch aus!

Unsere Pop-Bugs Balls haben einen Mehlwurmanteil (Tenebrio molitor) von 17%. Die restlichen Zutaten sind Gemüse (Kichererbsen, Sellerie, Karotten, Lauch) und Gewürze. Da wir grossen Wert auf Natürlichkeit legen, sind unsere Balls komplett frei von künstlichen Aroma- und Zusatzstoffen! Als Aperitif, Beilage zum Salat, in Bowls oder Wraps – bei der Verwendung der Balls werden keine Grenzen gesetzt.

Produktvorstellung

Die Pop-Bugs Burger mit 30% Mehlwurmanteil (Tenebrio Molitor) gibt es derzeit bei ausgewählten Foodtrucks zu kaufen. Bald auch in diversen Supermärkten und Gastronomiebetrieben. Da wir auch bei diesem Produkt besonderen Wert auf Natürlichkeit legen, umfasst unsere Zutatenliste Quinoaflocken, Gemüse (Rote Beete, Zwiebel, Tomtenkonzentrat, Knoblauchpulver), Gewürze, Kräuter und natürliche Aromen. Die Pattys schmecken für jeden anders, aber im Burger für jeden super! Probier sie doch auch aus!

Unsere Pop-Bugs Balls haben einen Mehlwurmanteil (Tenebrio molitor) von 17%. Die restlichen Zutaten sind Gemüse (Kichererbsen, Sellerie, Karotten, Lauch) und Gewürze. Da wir grossen Wert auf Natürlichkeit legen, sind unsere Balls komplett frei von künstlichen Aroma- und Zusatzstoffen! Als Aperitif, Beilage zum Salat, in Bowls oder Wraps – bei der Verwendung der Balls werden keine Grenzen gesetzt.

Unser Team

Zusammen treffen wir die Auswahl der Lieferanten und besuchen persönlich die kooperierenden Food Trucks und Supermärkte. Dabei befragen wir die Kunden nach Ihren Präferenzen. So können die Rezepturen stets nach Kundenwünschen verbessert werden.

TEAM

Ralph Langholz

Hat einen MBA in Supply Chain Management und ist der Produktmanager Insekten. Er beobachtet den Markt und schafft geeignete Strukturen für unsere Produkte. Er knüpft und pflegt Kontakte mit Kunden und Partnern und sorgt dafür, dass die Pop-Bugs Produkte an Bekanntheit gewinnen.

Ralph Langholz

Hat einen MBA in Supply Chain Management und ist der Produktmanager Insekten. Er beobachtet den Markt und schafft geeignete Strukturen für unsere Produkte. Er knüpft und pflegt Kontakte mit Kunden und Partnern und sorgt dafür, dass die Pop-Bugs Produkte an Bekanntheit gewinnen.

Meinrad Koch

Als Produktentwickler Insekten ist es seine Aufgabe, die Rezepturen unserer Pop-Bugs Produkte zu entwickeln und verbessern. Durch sein Masterstudium als Lebensmitteltechnologe weiss er, welche Rohstoffe miteinander harmonieren und welche Herstellungsverfahren für unsere Produkte geeignet sind.

Meinrad Koch

As Insect Product Developer, it is his job to develop and improve the recipes of our Pop-Bugs products. Thanks to his master studies as a food technologist, he knows which ingredients complement each other and which production processes will be suitable for our products.

Verkaufsstellen

Ab Februar 2019 sind unsere Pop-Bugs Balls in verschiedenen Hieber Supermärkten in Südwest Deutschland erhältlich. Weiterhin werden unsere Pop-Bugs Produkte an ausgewählten Food Trucks in der Schweiz serviert. Wir arbeiten stetig daran die Pop-Bugs Balls auch in deine Nähe zu bringen. Wenn du über die Verkaufsstellen auf dem Laufenden gehalten werden willst, dann melde dich für unseren Newsletter an.

Hieber
Deutschland

Zu finden sind wir in den Filialen von Lörrach, Weil am Rhein und Grenzach.

MundoDelGusto
Schweiz

Dienstag: Kloten Priora Suisse AG
11:30 – 13:15 Uhr (Mobile Business)
Balz-Zimmermannstrasse 7, 8302 Kloten

Mittwoch: Canon Schweiz
11:15 – 13:15 Uhr (Mobile Business)
Richtistrasse 9, 8304 Wallisellen

Donnerstag: ZHDK Toni-Arel
11:00 – 14:00 Uhr (Mobile Business)
Pfingstweidstrasse 96, 8005 Zürich

FAQ

Insekten

Woher stammen die Insekten?

Die Insekten stammen von Zuchtbetrieben in Europa welche sich auf die Herstellung von Speiseinsekten spezialisiert haben. Die Züchter werden auch regelmässig durch die staatliche Lebensmittelüberwachung kontrolliert.

Sind die Insekten im fertigen Produkt zu sehen?
Nein. Das Produkt ist so verarbeitet, dass keine Insekten oder Insektenteile sichtbar oder fühlbar sind.

Geschmack

Wie schmecken Insekten?
Mehlwürmer und Heuschrecken schmecken frisch und pur leicht nussig, während der Geschmack von Grillen dem von Popcorn ähnelt. Es gilt jedoch zu beachten, dass geschmackliche Unterschiede zwischen frischen und gefriergetrockneten Insekten bestehen.
Wie schmecken die Pop-Bugs Balls?
Unser Produkt besteht aus natürlichen Zutaten. Bei unseren Konsumentenbefragungen wurden sie als würzig, lecker knusprig und leicht scharf im Abgang beschrieben. Grundsätzlich gilt: die Geschmäcker sind verschieden. Probiere die Pop-Bugs Balls und überzeuge dich selbst!

Unser Produkt

Sind die Insektenprodukte Vegetarisch oder Vegan?
Nein, durch den Mehlwurmanteil sind die Produkte weder vegetarisch noch vegan. Wir haben immer wieder Vegetarier welche unsere leckeren Pop-Bugs Balls essen. Fakt ist, dass es sich bei Insekten um tierische Proteine handelt. Das bedeutet aber auch, dass Insekten ein ähnliches Nährstoffprofil

Rezepte

Joghurt-Minze Dip

Zutaten: 180 gJoghurt10 gMinze1 TLHonigSalzPfeffer So wird’s gemacht: Das Joghurt mit dem Honig vermengen. Die Minze klein hacken und unter das Joghurt geben. Mit Salz und Pfeffer abschmecken.

mehr lesen

Joghurt-Feigen Dip

Zutaten: 180 ggriechisches Joghurt1 StückFeige10 g ZitronensaftSalzPfeffer So wird’s gemacht: Die Feigen zerkleinern, mit dem griechischen Joghurt mischen und pürieren. Anschliessend mit Salz, Pfeffer und Zitronensaft abschmecken.

mehr lesen

Joghurt-Kräuter Dip

Zutaten: 100 ggriechisches Joghurt10 gMayonnaise10 gZwiebel geschnitten5 gPetersilie geschnitten3 gSchnittlauch geschnittenSalzPfeffer So wird’s gemacht: Das griechische Joghurt mit der Mayonnaise, den geschnittenen Kräutern und Zwiebel mischen. Mit Salz und Pfeffer...

mehr lesen

Newsletter

Newsletter

Micarna SA

Social Media